Wk 12 – Artist Conversation – Tiffany Le

Artist: Tiffany Le
Exhibition: Tàu
Media: Canvas, paper, ink, candles, water color paints
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Dutzi Gallery
Website: http://www.letealeaf.com
Instagram: @letealeaf

Le is from Garden Grove, California. She was born and raised there. This is surprising since none of her other family members were born here, instead they are all from Vietnam. Le says that her relatives and parents often discussed about the hardships of living in Vietnam, but never really told her the true stories behind it. But, she does have an interest in learning more about her heritage and where she came from: Vietnam. Starting at a young age, 3 years old, Le was always interested in art. Le says she is going to graduate in May.

All the paintings were made with either water colors, or oils. The scale of all the paintings are medium sized, they nicely fit your frame vision. It isn’t overwhelming. The only over-sized piece of art was the display of the paper boats. That was the biggest display there, and I noticed a lot of students were careful not to step on the art pieces since they took up a good amount of space in the room. All the paintings are related to Vietnam, or refugees escaping from Vietnam. I showed my parents these paintings, since they can relate, and found a lot of comfort and interest in the paintings. The main colors used throughout the paintings are black, blue, red. But, the only colors used in the painting which shows contents inside a suitcase are yellow and green. All the textures look smooth.

I believe with Le’s use of the darker tones for the paintings expressing life in Vietnam is used to convey the theme of panic and sadness. Related to how she said her parents often expressed that life was hard in Vietnam, the dark colors connote emotions of sadness, loneliness, and hardship the older Vietnamese generation had to endure. But, with green and yellow being used for the painting with the contents inside the suitcase, it conveys that the idea that escaping to the U.S. is a new beginning, and is positive. This is because the colors yellow and green connote ideas of new happenings and positivity. With the exhibit being named “Tau,” the central theme is escaping, since the word Tau is the Vietnamese word for boat.

This was my personal favorite exhibit from everything so far. Because, I could relate to it, for my grandparents were Vietnamese refugees. I showed my parents the artwork and they showed a lot of interest and they really enjoyed it. My favorite piece was the paper boats on the ground. I though that was really pretty, the lights and the models really made me think about what the refugees went through. It also made me thing about how much the older generation has been through when trying to come to the U.S. My mom has often talked about the hardships of starting a new life in the U.S., so has my dad. This exhibit has allowed me to revisit these ideas and discuss them with my family. Overall, this exhibit was very beautiful, and one of my favorites.

Standard

Leave a Reply

